The Citizenship-by-Investment program was launched in November 2012. The laws governing this program are in the Antigua and Barbuda Citizenship by Investment Act, 2013, and the Antigua and Barbuda Citizenship by Investment Regulations, 2013.

With an Antigua and Barbuda passport, a citizen can travel to approximately 131 countries in the world, including Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, the United Kingdom and Schengen area zone countries with relative ease and without challenging visa requirements. In 2009, the Antigua and Barbuda Government signed a visa waiver agreement with the European Union which allows an Antigua and Barbuda citizen to visit the Schengen countries without a visa for a period of three months within any period of six months following the date of first entry into any E.U. country.

The Citizenship-by-Investment program requires the applicant to make an economic contribution to the country. In exchange, and subject to stringent application procedures, such as background checks, applicants and their families are granted citizenship.

To qualify for citizenship, the applicant must be over 18 years of age, satisfy the application requirements and select one of the three options available. The first option is an investment of at least US $400,000 into one of the approved real estate projects. The second option is a contribution of a non-refundable amount of at least US $250,000 (limited time offer) to the National Development Fund (NDF) (for a single applicant). The third and final option is a direct investment of at least US $1,500,000 in an eligible business as a sole investor or as a joint investment by at least 2 persons. In the case of a joint investment, the business must be worth at least US $5,000,000 where each of the investors invests at least US $400,000.

Applicants and their dependents who have in the past been denied a visa to countries which Antigua has visa-free access may not apply into this program.

Dual citizenship is allowed and individuals who will not become resident for tax purposes in Antigua are not subject to any personal income tax.

Note: The Antigua and Barbuda Citizenship by Investment Programme will not accept applications from nationals of the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • Yemen

For more information, please visit the government website:

Reasons to choose Antigua and Barbuda?

  • Fast processing within 3-4 months;
  • Inclusion of dependent children under 25 years, and dependent parents or grandparents over 65 years;
  • No requirement to travel to Antigua and Barbuda during the application process;
  • Visa-free travel to more than 100 countries including the Schengen Zone, Canada, UK, Hong Kong, Singapore, and others;
  • No tax on worldwide income.

Investin Options:

  • National Development Contribution or charitable donation
    High net worth individuals may choose to make a monetary contribution of US$ 250,000 to the National Development Contribution or an approved charity.

  • Real estate investment
    The property purchased must equal a minimum of US$ 400,000 in a pre-approved real estate development area. The investment must be maintained for a minimum of 5 years. Property registration, processing fees and taxes must be paid in addition to the property purchase.

  • Establish business
    An applicant may invest US$1,500,000 to establish a business and qualify to apply for citizenship. Two or more applicants can make a joint business investment where the individual threshold must equal a minimum of US$ 400,000 and the total investment must equal a minimum of US$ 5,000,000.

Visa Free


AFRICA: Botswana, Gambia, Lesotho, Malawi,Mauritius, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

AMERICAS: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, , Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Chile, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela

ASIA: Armenia, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Israel, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea

EUROPE: Albania, Andorra,Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece,Hungary, Iceland, Ireland,Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Monaco,Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City

OCEANIA: Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Vanuatu

Laos, Lebanon, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nauru, Nepal, Palau, Somalia, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Bolivia, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Jordan

• Please note that this list is subject to change and so kindly confirm the information before planning any trip.